After seven years, Aerogramme Writers’ Studio is taking a break and it not currently being updated.

Click here to explore some of our most popular posts.

James Jones $10,000 Fellowship Contest for First-time Fiction Novelists: Entries Close 15 March

James Jones Fellowship 2018

The James Jones Fellowship Contest is now in its 27th year. It awards $10,000 to an American writer with a first fiction novel in progress in 2018. Two runners-up may each receive $1000.

Entrants are asked to supply a two-page outline of their entire novel, plus the first 50 pages of the work.

The fellowship is only for unpublished first novels: collections of short stories, memoirs and self-published novels are not eligible. To enter this contest, writers must be United States citizens.

An entry fee of $30 is payable and writers can choose to enter either online or via mail. Multiple entries from the same author are allowed and novels submitted in the previous year’s competition may be resubmitted.

The 2017 contest was won by Erin Kate Ryan for her manuscript Quantum Girl Theory. The winner will be notified in September 2018 and an excerpt from the winning manuscript will be published in Provincetown Arts in July 2019.

Entries close on Thursday 15 March 2018. For further information about the James Jones Fellowship Contest please visit the Wilkes University website.