After seven years, Aerogramme Writers’ Studio is taking a break and it not currently being updated.

Click here to explore some of our most popular posts.

$10,000 for a Single Poem: Rattle’s Poetry Prize 2016

Rattle Poetry Prize 2016

Rattle’s 11th annual poetry prize is currently accepting entries. The winner will receive US$10,000 and publication in the winter issue of the magazine. Ten finalists will each receive $200 and be in the running for a $2000 Reader’s Choice Award.

The competition is open to writers worldwide and all entries must be previously unpublished. Poems may be any length, any style, or any subject and there is no line limit.

The entry fee is a $20 one-year subscription to Rattle (or a one-year extension for subscribers). In 2015 the prize was won by Tiana Clark for her poem Equilibrium.

Rattle also considers unsolicited submissions year round. Poets at all stages of their careers are invited to submit their work and all poems are considered on their own merit. Contributors in print receive $100 per poem and online contributors receive $50 per poem. All submissions are automatically considered for the annual Neil Postman Award for Metaphor, a $1000 prize judged by the editors.

Entries for Rattle’s 2016 Poetry Prize close on Friday 15 July. For full entry details visit the Rattle website.


For more competitions, see our latest Opportunities for Writers post and follow Aerogramme Writers’ Studio on Facebook and Twitter.


Leave a Reply