After seven years, Aerogramme Writers’ Studio is taking a break and it not currently being updated.

Click here to explore some of our most popular posts.

Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize: Entries Close 11 April

Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize 2016

The Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize is one of Australia’s most lucrative prizes for an original short story. Managed by Australian Book Review, the prize is now worth a total of AUD$12,500 (US$9000), up from $8000 in 2015.

The winner of the 2016 Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize will receive $7000, and there are runners-up prizes of $2000 and $1000. In addition, three entries will receive judge’s commendation prizes of $850 each.

Entries are welcome from writers anywhere in the world and there are no age restrictions.

Entries must be a single-authored short story of between 2000 and 5000 words, written in English. Stories must not have been previously published or be on offer to other prizes or publications for the duration of the prize. Multiple entries are permitted and stories entered but not shortlisted in past Jolley Prizes may be re-entered.

The three shortlisted stories will be published in September Fiction Issue of Australian Book Review and the winner will be announced at a special event at Melbourne Writers Festival.

The prize will be judged by Australian Book Review Deputy Editor Amy Baillieu and writers Maxine Beneba Clarke and David Whish-Wilson.  Paddy O’Reilly. An entry fee of $20 (or $15 for ABR subscribers) is payable.

The 2015 Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize was won by English writer Rob Magnuson Smith for his story ‘The Elector of Nossnearly’. That year the prize attracted over 1200 entries from over thirty-one different countries,

Entries close on 11 April 2016. The deadline for the 2016 prize has been extended to 18 April 2016.For full entry details visit the Australian Book Review website.


For more competitions for writers see our latest Opportunities for Writers post and follow Aerogramme Writers’ Studio on Facebook and Twitter.



  1. susan comer
    29 February 2016 / 1:17 am

    hi I’m a new writer fromthe UK can i enter your competition?

  2. 3 March 2016 / 1:22 am

    Entries are welcome from writers anywhere in the world and there are no age restrictions.

  3. Annah Faulkner
    29 March 2016 / 5:13 pm

    Can’t access the website to complete application form – garbled site and security warning. Any suggestions

  4. McKenzie Hurst
    27 September 2016 / 4:32 am

    Does the contest repeat every year? I was looking for something to do in my free time and saw that this closed earlier this year.

  5. martinetartine2016
    19 December 2016 / 9:18 pm

    Is the prize running in 2017?

  6. Hijran Zaidova
    15 January 2017 / 8:55 am

    And what about genre?

Leave a Reply