After seven years, Aerogramme Writers’ Studio is taking a break and it not currently being updated.

Click here to explore some of our most popular posts.

The Kenyon Review Short Fiction Contest: Entries Close 29 February

The Kenyon Review Short Fiction Contest 2016

Kenyon Review was founded by John Crowe Ransom in 1939. It prides itself on publishing talented emerging writers, especially from diverse communities, alongside many distinguished, established writers. Kenyon Review’s short stories have won more O. Henry Awards than any other non-profit journal and it frequently appears on lists ranking America’s best literary magazines.

The Kenyon Review Short Fiction Contest is only open to writers who have not yet published a book of fiction. To enter writers must provide a story of up to 1200 words.

The judge of the 2016 contest is Jaimy Gordon, author of Lord of Misrule, winner of the  National Book Award for Fiction in 2010. An entry fee of US$20 is payable with each entry; in exchange each entrant receives a one year subscription to the magazine (normally $30).

The winning story will be published in the January/February 2017 issue of Kenyon Review, and its author will receive a scholarship to attend the magazine’s June 2016 Writers Workshop. The 2015 contest was won by Shasta Grant; read her winning story here.

Entries to the contest open on Monday 1 February and close on Monday 29 February. For full entry details visit the Kenyon Review website.


For more writing competitions see our latest Opportunities for Writers post and follow Aerogramme Writers’ Studio on Facebook and Twitter.



1 Comment

  1. 8 February 2016 / 7:23 pm

    Hello, thanks for sharing Kenyon review short fiction contest story. 2015 story is indeed inspiring. Congratulations Shasta Grant for the victory! I’m looking forward to join up this year contest for sure.

Leave a Reply