After seven years, Aerogramme Writers’ Studio is taking a break and it not currently being updated.

Click here to explore some of our most popular posts.

15 Short Story Competitions to Enter Before the End of the Year

15 Short Story Competitions to Enter Before the Year of the Year

Boston Review’s Aura Estrada Short Story Contest
is one of three contests run each year by the literary magazine.The winner of the contest will receive US$1500 and have his or her work published in the July/August 2016 issue of Boston Review. The runners-up stories may also be published. Entries close 1 October.

Calvino Prize
is an annual fiction competition sponsored by the Creative Writing Program at the University of Louisville. The prize is awarded for writing in the fabulist experimentalist style of Italo Calvino. First prize is US$1500 and publication in Salt Hill Journal. Stories must be less than 25 pages in length. Entries close 14 October.

Margaret River Short Story Writing Competition
is open to all authors of any age or nationality. Winning and shortlisted stories will be selected for publication. First prize is valued at AUD$1000 and includes $500 cash and $500 contribution towards an airfare to attend the Margaret River Readers and Writers Festival in Western Australia plus a two-week residency in Margaret River to be taken up at any time .Entries close 14 October.

London Magazine
is England’s oldest literary periodical, with a history stretching back to 1732. Entries for the magazine’s prestigious short story competition are welcomed from writers around the world. The winner will receive £500 and publication. Entries close 31 October.

Masters Review Fall Fiction Contest
is for unpublished stories up to 7000 words. Entrants must be emerging writers who have not published a novel at the time of submission. First prize is US$2000. Entries close 31 October.

Commonwealth Short Story Prize
is an annual award for unpublished short fiction open to citizens of the 53 Commonwealth countries. The prize covers the five Commonwealth regions: Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, Caribbean and Pacific. One winner will be selected from each region, with one regional winner to be selected as the overall winner. The overall winner of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize will receive £5000 and the remaining four regional winners receive £2500. Entries close 1 November.

Chris O’Malley Prize in Fiction
is offered annually by The Madison Review. The finest story will be awarded US$1000 and publication. Entries may be up to 30 pages. The Madison Review is also runs the Phyllis Smart-Young Prize in Poetry. Entries for both prizes close on 1 November.

John Steinbeck Short Story Award
is one of three prizes offered by Reed Magazine. This award is for a work of fiction up to 5000 words and requires a reading fee of $15. The winner of the John Steinbeck Award receives a cash prize of US$1000. Entries close 1 November.

Fiction Desk’s Newcomer Prize
is a competition for new short stories from 1000 to 5000 words in length. The first prize is £500 and second prize is £250; both winners will also be published in an upcoming Fiction Desk anthology.Eligible writers must not have had a novel or collection of short stories published in physical, printed format. Entries close 6 November.

Narrative Magazine’s Fall Contest
is open to both fiction and nonfiction pieces. Entries may be up to 15,000 in length and must be previously unpublished. First Prize is $2500, second prize is $1000, third Prize is $500, and up to ten finalists will receive $100 each. All entries will be considered for publication. Entries close 30 November.

Fish Publishing International Short Story Prize
is for stories up to 5000 words. First prize is €3000 (€1,000 of which is for travel expenses to the launch of the Anthology). Second prize is a week at the Anam Cara Writers’ & Artists’ Retreat. Ten short stories will be published in the 2016 Fish Anthology. Entries close 30 November.

Baltimore Review’s Winter Contest
is open to short stories, poems and creative non-fiction. The theme for the contest is Health. Prizes are US$500, $200, and $100 and there is an entry fee is $10. All entries considered for publication. Entries close 30 November.

Fiddlehead’s 25th Annual Contest
will award CA$2000 and publication to the best short story. Entries must be unpublished and can be up to 6000 words. Entries close 1 December.

Lascaux Prize in Short Fiction
is open to stories up to 10,000 words in all genres and styles. The winner will receive US$1000 and the winner and all finalists will be published in The Lascaux Review. Stories may be previously published or unpublished, and simultaneous submissions are accepted. Entries close 31 December.

Boulevard’s Short Fiction Contest for Emerging Writers
is open people who have not yet published a book of fiction, poetry or creative non-fiction with a nationally distributed press. Stories may be up to 8000 words and must be previously unpublished. The winner will receive US$1500 and have their story published in the magazine. Entries close 31 December.


For news about more writing competitions follow Aerogramme Writers’ Studio on Facebook and Twitter.



Leave a Reply